Monday, Monday

cyvzjuousaeuehi

Mondays always get a bum rap. Monday means the weekend is over, the work week starts, the alarm goes, life gets crazy.

I actually like Mondays. It’s a clean slate each time, the first day of another week filled with activities, accomplishments, even adventures.

Perhaps that sentiment comes from the fact that I am basically retired. Oh yes, I write, but I do that on my own schedule (sometimes I don’t even do it at all!). It occurs to me that I didn’t always love Mondays when I was a busy mom, when I worked full-time, when our family calendar was over-filled with activities and commitments.

One thing I do know is that Mondays are always better when I go to bed on Sunday night feeling organized and on top of things. Usually I spend an hour or so each Sunday planning out my week, preparing whatever needs to be prepared (in my teaching days it was the week’s curriculum), organizing to-do lists, plotting out my schedule. After doing this I feel in control of whatever the week might throw at me.

So here I am this Monday morning, sitting at my desk with my to-do list beside me, feeling very motivated and on top of things. I will glow with a sense of accomplishment each time I cross something off that list. This feeling will last throughout my day, because on Mondays I can do anything.

Tuesday, however, is a whole other story…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Monday, Monday

  1. Paulette Brooks

    Can’t wait to hear about Tuesdays! We’ve started giving Mondays an “M” name at work – like “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad Monday” just to put us all in a good frame of mind to start off the week.

Leave a Reply

